Rómulo Macciò

(Buenos Aires, 1931-2016)

He is a self-taught painter. He worked in advertising and graphic design since 1945. In 1958 he joined the Boa group, defending the "gestural automatism" in a continuation of Breton’s postulates. In 1961, along with Ernesto Deira, Luis Felipe Noé and Jorge de la Vega, he initiates the neofigurative movement in Argentina.

He received the Torcuato Di Tella International Award (1963) and the Grand Prize of Honor at the LVII Salon Nacional de las Artes (1967). Among its major exhibitions include: Instituto Di Tella, Buenos Aires (1967); Museo de Arte Moderno, México DF (1976); Museo de Arte Moderno, París (1977); Sala Saint-Jean, Hotel de Ville, Paris (1990); Castello Sforzesco, Sala Viscontea, Milán (1991); Museo Cuevas, México DF (1996); Fundación PROA, Buenos Aires (1997); Centro Cultural Recoleta, Buenos Aires (1997); Museo Municipal de Bellas Artes Genaro Pérez, Córdoba (2002); Museo Nacional de Bellas Artes, Buenos Aires (2007). He represented Argentina at the Sao Paulo Biennal in two occasions (1963 y 1985) and at the Venice Biennal in 1968 and 1988.

His work belongs to numerous public collections, such as: The Joseph H. Hirshborn Collection; The Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation, New York, USA; Musée d’Art Moderne, Bruxelles, Belgium; Musée Cantonal, Lausanne, Switzerland; Musée d’Art Moderne, Paris, France; Museum des Zwanzigsten Jahrunderts, Wien, Austria; Neue Pinakothek, München, Germany; Museo de Arte Moderno, Buenos Aires, Argentina; Museo Nacional de Bellas Artes, Buenos Aires, Argentina; Instituto Torcuato Di Tella, Buenos Aires, Argentina; Museo de Arte Moderno, Río de Janeiro, Brazil; Museo de Arte Contemporáneo, Madrid, Spain; Museo de Arte Moderno, Mexico.